Philly Film Festival 2010

Posted: October 14, 2010 by Jenny Dreadful in Events, Film, News

Just a quick note to anyone in the Philadelphia area. Don’t forget! The Philly Film Festival kicks off tonight! And the selection of horror films is fairly impressive this year. I wish there was time and ticket money for all of them! Well… most of them. I don’t have time to talk about all of the genre entries, so here are six highlights.

Black Swan

The newest film from Darren Aronofsky. A psychological thriller starring Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis with a ballet setting and strong Swan Lake themes. As one might expect from this director, it looks pretty incredible. http://www.foxsearchlight.com/blackswan/

The Last Circus (aka Balada Triste de Trompeta)

Sorry, I can’t find a proper trailer for this one. This interview, in Spanish, has some great footage from the movie mixed in. Best I could do.

I love Alex de la Iglesia! <3 Although he’s not a well-known director here in the States, he has done some fairly incredible work in the horror genre. (Day of the Beast and The Baby’s Room are both excellent.) I don’t know much about this film, but I like the director and the festival booklet shows a clown with a big gun. That’s enough for me. Most informative link I can find, the IMDB: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1572491/

Mutant Girl Squad

Don’t play this trailer if cartoonish gore and blood fountains are unwanted or inappropriate. :)

Another bizarre Japanese gore comedy from the directors who collectively brought us: Machine Girl, RoboGeisha, Tokyo Gore Police and Vampire Girl vs. Frankenstein Girl. If you’re familiar with this wacky blood-splattered sub-genre already, then you know what you’re in for. If not, you can be sure to expect spraying geysers of blood, comedic violence and absurd dialogue. Official Japanese Website: http://www.sentoshojo.jp/

Rubber

Well. If you’ve seen that trailer, I guess you know about as much as I do. A French film about a killer tire with psychic powers. That’s all I’ve got, people. I’m in. http://www.rubberfilm.com/

A Serbian Film

I’m sorry, but this is honestly the cleanest trailer I could find. And it still contains nudity, sexual acts and upsetting violence. The worst is left out, of course, but this is a warning. Watch it at home if you’re going to watch it at all.

This is not a recommendation, but this Serbian production is probably the most controversial film on the market right now. That’s always worth discussion. I’m a bit surprised to see it on this year’s festival schedule and am very curious to see its reception with this crowd.

A Serbian Film has quite a reputation for disturbing its viewers. I hear the same reaction fairly often: “I had to see it to find out what all the controversy was about. I regret seeing it.” Unless you are the most hardcore of horror fans or can handle extreme cinema, this film is not for you. Especially if you are bothered by sexual violence and violence against children. I love many controversial films such as AntiChrist, Inside and Martyrs and I might avoid this.  http://contrafilm.net/

(Is it wrong that I love that song in the trailer? It won’t get out of my head.)

We are What we are

A Mexican film about a family of cannibals who try to continue their murderous lifestyle after the death of the father. Here’s the IMDB: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1620604/

Well, that’s all we’ve got for now. We’ll definitely be viewing Black Swan and The Last Circus. Possibly Rubber. (And some non-genre stuff that probably doesn’t count like The Girl who… movies.) Excited! You can expect at least 2 reviews in the near future.

Are you going to the festival? What are you seeing?

Comments
  1. StayFrosty says:

    Each time I see the “Black Swan” trailer I get more excited for the weekend! Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

