Bloody Disgusting Selects: Rammbock

Posted: May 4, 2011 by Jenny Dreadful in Film, News

I’ve been excited about this news for some time , but for those who don’t know… Bloody Disgusting, one of the best horror websites around, has formed a partnership with AMC theaters and The Collective. The result? Bloody Disgusting Selects. A distributor that will seek out indie horror pictures from around the world and bring them to selected AMC theaters here in the States. Just 28 theaters so far, including one near us (hooray!), but I’m hoping they’ll expand. Check out the theater list and ticket options here.

Why am I mentioning this today? The first film highlighted, a German zombie invasion by the name of Rammbock: Berlin Undead, hits the theaters tonight. Wednesday and Friday nights only I’m afraid. Let’s take a look:

Just when Michael arrives in Berlin to visit his ex-girlfriend Gabi, a terrible virus starts spreading across the city at a rapid pace, turning people into mindless homicidal maniacs. Much to Michael’s concern, Gabi’s not home; instead, he meets Harper, a teenage plumber’s apprentice at work in her apartment block. Together, they manage to barricade themselves when raging hordes of infected people swarm the building. Surrounded by these thirsty zombies, Michael and Harper have their hands full to survive – and it will take all of their ingenuity to make their way out to try and find Gabi.

Let’s be honest. Time and money permitting, I am not going to NOT see a foreign horror flick in the theater. With a few exceptions, America just isn’t satisfying my needs. I’m a woman with needs! The vast majority of new horror films that manage to impress me, frighten me and stay with me come from abroad. In this subtitle-phobic country of ours, it’s wonderful to have a chance to see these films on the big screen.

This doesn’t mean I expect Rammbock to be perfect. For instance; Clocking in at about 60 minutes, the film has been criticized for being too short. Even so, the buzz is good. Very good. Can another film convince me to care about zombies again? I’m anxious to find out.

Leave a Reply

